Topic: First or Second Serves

Topic: First or Second Serves
 
Question: I was playing a doubles match, and on the court beside us was another doubles match. One of my opponents served to me and missed the serve. However, before he served the second serve, a ball from the other court came onto my court side. I immediately called a let and he did not serve, but then he wanted the first serve again. Is that the rule?
KAUFMAN: If your opponent had not started the service motion for the second serve and the delay was not long, then it is a second serve. If you stopped your opponent from serving during the service motion, or if the delay was very long, then the server is entitled to a first serve.

 

Article written by

Please comment with your real name using good manners.

Leave a Reply